Thursday, January 26, 2023

Bill Russell, Chris Bosh, Paul Pierce headline Basketball Hall of Fame 2021 class

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame will induct the Class of 2021 inductees this weekend. Bill Russell (as a coach), Paul Pierce and Chris Bosh headline this year’s class.

Russell, inducted into the Hall of Fame as a player in 1975, won his final two titles with the Celtics as a player-coach after Red Auerbach retired ahead of the 1966-67 season. He was not only the first Black coach in NBA history, but also the first Black professional North American coach. He is also the first such coach to win a championship.

MORE: Vanessa Bryant’s full HOF speech honoring Kobe

Pierce joins Garnett, his former Celtics teammate, in the Hall of Fame. A 10-time All-Star, he captured the NBA championship and Finals MVP award in 2008. Bosh, who won his two NBA titles as part of the Heat’s “Big Three” alongside Dwyane Wade and LeBron James, was an 11-time NBA All-Star whose career was cut short because of health issues.

Other notable entrants into the 2021 Hall of Fame class include four-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year Ben Wallace, Fab Five standout and five-time NBA All-Star Chris Webber and Hofstra and Villanova coach Jay Wright, who has two NCAA Tournament titles and four Final Four appearances under his belt. Women’s inductees include Yolanda Griffith (WNBA champion, WNBA MVP and eight-time All-Star) and Lauren Jackson, a legend in both the WNBA and WNBL.

Below is the full 2021 enshrinement class:

Basketball Hall of Fame 2021 class

North American Committee

  • Rick Adelman
  • Chris Bosh
  • Paul Pierce
  • Bill Russell
  • Ben Wallace
  • Chris Webber
  • Jay Wright

Women’s Committee

  • Yolanda Griffith
  • Lauren Jackson


  • Val Ackerman
  • Howard Garfinkel
  • Cotton Fitzsimmons

Veterans Committee

International Committee

Women’s Veterans

Early African American Pioneers


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *